SharkWater Trading • Venture Desk • Closed-End Funds • NAV Mechanics
Destiny Tech100's NAV Rose 39.7 Percent Last Quarter. Its Largest Holding Is a Treasury Money Market Fund.
August 29, 2026
Bottom Line Up Front
Destiny Tech100 (NYSE: DXYZ) reported net asset value of $34.30 per share as of June 30, 2026, up from $24.56 at March 31. That is a 39.7 percent quarterly gain, and it will get read as portfolio performance. It is mostly not. The fund sold 17,191,674 new shares through its Jefferies at-the-market program during the quarter, roughly a 57 percent increase in the share count, at prices well above the prior NAV mark. Selling stock above NAV lifts NAV per share for everyone already holding it, and by my arithmetic that mechanism accounts for somewhere between 36 and 63 percent of the entire gain.
The range is that wide because the filing contradicts itself. It reports 17,191,674 shares sold at a weighted average price of $34.25, which is $588.8 million gross, and then reports net proceeds of $715,442,732. Net proceeds cannot exceed gross proceeds. One of those three numbers is wrong and the document does not say which.
Meanwhile the money went into Treasuries. 57.3 percent of the June 30 portfolio sits in the First American Treasury Obligations money market fund. The private venture book, the thing anyone buys DXYZ to own, is roughly $700 million of a $1.64 billion portfolio. I am not recommending a position here in either direction, and the last section explains why.
What Was Actually Filed
Destiny put out a Business Wire release at 8:11pm Eastern on Friday, August 28, announcing NAV of $34.30 per share for the quarter ended June 30, 2026, against approximately $1.64 billion of portfolio fair value. The same evening the fund filed Supplement No. 1 to its May 26, 2026 prospectus on Form 424B3, File No. 333-296216, which carries the same NAV figure plus the full position table.
The press release is four paragraphs. The filing is where the story is, and the two most important things in it are not in the release at all.
The First Thing: More Than Half the Fund Is Cash
The 424B3 position table lists First American Treasury Obligations, Class X, at 57.3 percent of portfolio. That is the single largest line by a wide margin. The next largest is Magnitude ANC III, an SPV with economic exposure to Anthropic Series B preferred, at 14.4 percent. Three separate SPVs carrying SpaceX Class A common stock add to 10.5 percent. Two OpenAI vehicles add to 2.6 percent.
So the fund's four biggest exposures, in order, are: Treasury bills, Anthropic, SpaceX, and OpenAI. Only three of those four are venture capital.
Compare the same table one quarter earlier. At March 31, 2026, on a portfolio of approximately $742.5 million, the money market line was 31.4 percent. Cash weight nearly doubled as a share of the fund in three months, and it did so because the at-the-market program was pumping capital in faster than the adviser was deploying it.
A boat rides higher when you pump the bilge dry. It does not ride higher because the water got deeper.
The Second Thing: Most of the NAV Gain Is Issuance
When a closed-end fund trades above NAV and issues new shares at that market price, every dollar raised above book value accrues to existing holders. It is a real economic benefit and it is entirely legitimate. It is also not investment performance, and it does not repeat once the premium closes.
DXYZ issued 17,191,674 shares in the quarter. The filing does not report shares outstanding or total net assets, so I derived the share counts below from the reported NAV per share and the reported approximate portfolio value. That derivation assumes net assets are close to portfolio value, which requires the fund to carry no material leverage. Treat every share count in this table as mine, not the fund's.
| Line | Mar 31, 2026 | Jun 30, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| NAV per share (reported) | $24.56 | $34.30 |
| Approx. portfolio value (reported) | $742.5M | $1.64B |
| Money market weight (reported) | 31.4% | 57.3% |
| Implied private book (derived) | ~$509M | ~$700M |
| Shares outstanding (derived) | ~30.2M | ~47.8M |
| ATM shares sold in quarter (reported) | 8,489,359 | 17,191,674 |
Source: Form 424B3 Supplement No. 1 dated August 28, 2026 (File No. 333-296216) and Form 424B3 Supplement No. 6 dated May 12, 2026. NAV, portfolio value, money market weight, and ATM share counts are reported figures. Shares outstanding and private book value are DERIVED BY SHARKWATER from those reported figures and are not stated anywhere in the filings. The derivation assumes net assets approximate portfolio value.
Now the decomposition, and here is where the filing fights itself. Reported ATM detail for the quarter reads 17,191,674 shares at a weighted average price of $34.25, with net proceeds of $715,442,732. Multiply the shares by the price and you get $588.8 million gross. Net proceeds are reported $126.6 million higher than gross proceeds, which is arithmetically impossible.
I cannot tell you which figure is broken, so here is what the NAV bridge looks like under each.
| Scenario | Capital raised | From issuance | From portfolio marks |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price times share count ($588.8M) | $588.8M | $3.51 / 36% | $6.23 / 64% |
| Stated net proceeds ($715.4M) | $715.4M | $6.18 / 63% | $3.56 / 37% |
DERIVED BY SHARKWATER, not reported. Splits the $9.74 per share NAV increase between accretion from above-NAV share issuance and change in portfolio marks, under each of the two irreconcilable ATM figures in the August 28, 2026 424B3. Both scenarios rest on the derived share counts in the prior table.
The second scenario reconciles better with the rest of the document. A $168.8 million contribution from marks is close to the roughly $191 million by which the derived private book grew during the quarter, and that $191 million also includes whatever new private capital was deployed inside the quarter. The first scenario requires about $309 million of appreciation inside a private book that only grew $191 million in total, which does not fit unless there were substantial private sales the filing does not disclose.
My read is that the $715.4 million net proceeds figure is the reliable one and that the $34.25 weighted average price is understated, implying an effective issuance price near $41.62. But that is inference, not disclosure, and I am not going to present it as fact. What survives either way: a large minority to a clear majority of the headline NAV gain came from selling stock, not from owning it.
The Control Case: What This Looks Like Without an ATM
Fundrise Innovation Fund (NYSE: VCX) filed its Form NPORT-P for the same quarter end, and it is the cleanest possible comparison because VCX did not issue a single share.
Total net assets of $776,968 thousand at June 30, 2026, against $678,918 thousand at March 31. Divide each by the 35,797,138 shares outstanding reported in the March 31 audited N-CSR and you get exactly $21.70 and exactly $18.97, the two NAV figures the fund reports. The share count did not move. Every cent of that 14.4 percent NAV gain came from marks, and the filing itself shows the source: an $85,947 thousand net change in unrealized appreciation on Level 3 positions, plus $15,442 thousand realized.
| Metric, June 30, 2026 | DXYZ | VCX |
|---|---|---|
| NAV per share | $34.30 | $21.70 |
| Quarterly NAV change | +39.7% | +14.4% |
| Shares issued in quarter | 17,191,674 | 0 |
| NAV gain attributable to marks | 37% to 64% (derived) | 100% |
| Cash / money market weight | 57.3% of portfolio | 5.4% of net assets |
| Largest single exposure | Treasury MMF, 57.3% | Anthropic, over 20% |
| Leverage disclosed | None found in 424B3 | $30.4M Barclays reverse repo |
Sources: DXYZ Form 424B3 Supplement No. 1, August 28, 2026. VCX Form NPORT-P for the period ended June 30, 2026, and Form N-CSR for the period ended March 31, 2026. DENOMINATOR WARNING: the two funds do not use the same base. DXYZ states position weights as a percentage of approximate portfolio value. VCX states them as a percentage of net assets. On DXYZ's derived net assets the money market weight is roughly 57.8 percent, so the two are close here, but do not assume that holds in other quarters.
VCX is not the better fund because of this. It carries its own problems, including $30,400 thousand of Barclays reverse repurchase borrowing collateralized by data center CMBS, restricted securities at 82.2 percent of net assets, and single-name Anthropic exposure above 20 percent. The point is narrower. When you see a NAV number from a listed venture fund, the first question is whether the share count moved, and the answer changes what the number means.
What Happened to the Premium
For most of this year the retail conversation about DXYZ has been about its premium to NAV. Against the stale $24.56 mark, the fund looked like it was trading roughly 40 percent rich in late August. Against $34.30 it is trading close to flat.
The premium did not compress. The denominator moved. Nothing about the price had to change for a 40 percent premium to become no premium at all, and anyone who was short the premium and long the thesis that it had to close got the outcome without the mechanism.
This is the recurring lesson with quarterly-marked vehicles and I will keep repeating it. A premium computed against a mark that is two to five months old is a statement about the calendar, not about valuation. It tells you when the fund last opened its books. It does not tell you what the fund is worth today.
The Bull Case
- The accretion is real money. Issuing above NAV genuinely transfers value to existing holders. Whether it is $3.51 or $6.18 per share, it is not an accounting illusion, and holders through the quarter captured it.
- The cash is being deployed, and quickly. The filing discloses $169.0 million closed in three transactions after quarter end as of August 27: $150.0 million more into OpenAI on August 13, $15.0 million into Fluidstack on July 16, and $4.0 million into Boom Technology via a SAFE on August 4. That is real velocity against the September quarter.
- The top of the book is the right book. Anthropic at 14.4 percent, SpaceX at 10.5 percent across three vehicles, OpenAI at 2.6 percent before the August addition. If you want concentrated exposure to those three names in a liquid wrapper, the options are few.
- Buying near NAV is a different trade than buying at a 40 percent premium. Whatever the mechanism, the entry math available now is not the entry math that was available in June.
The Bear Case
- You are paying venture fees on a Treasury money market fund. That is the plain reading of a 57.3 percent cash weight. Every dollar in First American Treasury Obligations is a dollar you could hold yourself for a few basis points.
- The accretion engine only runs while the premium exists. If DXYZ is now near NAV, the largest single driver of last quarter's NAV growth is switched off. Nobody modeling forward growth off a 39.7 percent quarter should expect that rate to repeat.
- The SpaceX marks may reflect a price the fund cannot yet realize. SpaceX listed on June 12, 2026, inside the quarter. DXYZ holds it through three layered SPVs, one of which the filing describes as investing through multiple underlying SPVs with more than one layer. Public-price marks on locked-up, multiply-nested positions are the most fragile marks in the book.
- The filing does not reconcile. A prospectus supplement that reports net proceeds exceeding gross proceeds by $126.6 million is a disclosure quality problem, not a rounding problem, and it sits in the one paragraph a buyer most needs to trust.
The SharkWater Take
I am not taking a position and I am not telling you to take one, and the reason is specific rather than squeamish. The single most important input to any DXYZ trade right now is the premium or discount to NAV, and I cannot compute it to a standard I would put my own money behind. I have a hard, primary-sourced NAV of $34.30. I do not have a confirmed Friday closing price, and I do not have a reported share count, which means I do not have net assets either. Two of the three legs are derived and one of the derivations rests on a filing that contradicts itself.
What I will say plainly is that the headline is misleading, and predictably so. Over the next week you will see the 39.7 percent figure quoted as a venture return. It is not one. It is a fund that roughly doubled in size by selling stock at a premium, parked the proceeds in Treasuries, and reported the resulting per-share arithmetic as a quarterly result. The Wolfspeed post in July was the same shape in a different costume: a headline number that was an artifact of a corporate action rather than a description of the business.
The honest version of the DXYZ story is more interesting than the misleading one. A venture fund that is 57 percent cash, deploying $169 million in eight weeks into OpenAI and AI infrastructure, and that has just lost the premium that was funding its own NAV growth, is at a genuine inflection. I would rather write that post in three weeks with a confirmed share count than write a trade today off numbers I had to build myself.
Two things would change my mind and make this actionable. A reported shares outstanding figure and total net assets, which the semi-annual report should carry. And a corrected or clarified ATM disclosure. Until both land, this is a monitoring position, not a trade.
Data Gaps
- Shares outstanding and total net assets: NOT REPORTED. Neither figure appears in the August 28 424B3 or the press release. Every share count and net asset figure in this post is derived by me from NAV per share and approximate portfolio value, and assumes no material leverage.
- ATM proceeds: IRRECONCILABLE. 17,191,674 shares at a weighted average $34.25 is $588.8 million gross, against reported net proceeds of $715,442,732. Reported as filed. Not resolved.
- DXYZ closing price: NOT VERIFIED. No confirmed August 28, 2026 close was obtained from a primary or exchange source. No premium or discount figure in this post is computed against a live price, and the "close to flat" characterization is directional only.
- DXYZ leverage: NOT CONFIRMED EITHER WAY. The fund filed a 424B5 prospectus supplement for debt securities on May 26, 2026. Whether any debt was drawn as of June 30 is unknown, and if it was, the derived share counts here are overstated.
- VCX NPORT-P filing date: DISPUTED. One third-party account places it on EDGAR August 26, 2026, another August 28. The document content is confirmed; the accession timestamp is not.
- Private book values are derived, by subtracting the reported money market weight from the reported approximate portfolio value. The funds do not report a private-only subtotal.
- No options data appears in this post. No chain was pulled, no premium was modeled, and none should be inferred.
For educational and informational purposes only. Not personalized investment advice, and not a recommendation to buy or sell any security. Figures labeled DERIVED are SharkWater calculations, not issuer disclosures, and should be independently verified before use. Closed-end funds investing in privately held companies carry valuation, liquidity, and concentration risks that differ materially from those of listed equities. The author may hold positions in securities discussed. Do your own work.
No comments:
Post a Comment